Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Portrait Lens Indecision

This is my 1st post though I've been reading the forums for over a month and could use some guidence. I'm also new to digital. I have a D70s with a 18-70 zoom that I've done 1 portrait shoot with but was considering a fixed lens. My local photo shop suggested either a 50mm and adding a teleconverter if necessary or the 60mm Macro. I really have no interest in macro, so I'm seeking some guidence on which way to go. FWIW, the 50mm is 125.00 and the 60mm is 425.00 Thanks

Re: Portrait Lens Indecision

50mm! Enough said lol. (But then I am biased toward that lens).

Hi golfgoofey, welcome to PR The 50mm is a great lens. However, if I was looking for a prime just for portrait work, I would take a look at the 85mm f/1.8D. They are $399.95 from B&H. Both are nice and sharp but, the 85mm will give you a bit more "pull".
    Aaron Lehoux * flickr
    Please do not edit my photos, thank you.

Thanks guys, Im using a 13 x 13 room and my concern with the 85mm, after trying a 105mm is the distance I'll be from the model in order to photo a standing body shot.

Ahhh but Aaron, if the D70 has a 1.6 crop factor, then the 50mm effectively becomes roughly an 85mm portrait lens anyway

Thanks for that info. Like I said, I'm new to the DSLR snd I can't imagine the camera shop would have told me that. That's exactly why I'm here and after checking out your links I'm favoring the 50mm as it is.

Sports photo junkie jorgemonkey's Avatar

My favorite portrait lens is the Nikon 70-200 VR. Waaaaay expensive, but worth it.

I've also done a few with the 50mm 1.8, and its a fantastic lens as well.
    Nikon Samurai #21

Cameras:
    D700
    D300
    D200
    D2H

Lenses: