Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

More DSLR "What to buy?"

Looking for a camera since I am taking a photography class now. I'm completely new to photography outside of random tourist p&s stuff. I have been doing some reading and researching on what to get and have come to a few options but can't quite pick. At first I was leaning towards the K100D kit with the rebate coming to $400, then I played with that and an E510 and kinda liked the oly a bit more with the 2 lens kit at $650 (and reading the lenses were a bit better than the pentax one). And then I started looking up the XTi and the D40. I'm wondering how the kit lenses are in the XTi and the D40 2lens kits. For my current budget I think the K100D is the only one I couild afford to buy the body and then get a better lens; the others would be too much so I'd have to go with the kit for now (Trying not to pass $700 at the moment). I still have to see an XTi and D40 in person, but given those options what would suit a beginner well? I liked the 2 lens kits in that it would give more versatility, but it wouldn't be worth it if they aren't good lenses.
    • K100D kit $400

• E-510 2 lens kit $650

• D40 2 lens kit $640

• XTi kit $585

• K100D + a better lens $~550-650

Re: More DSLR "What to buy?"

First off welcome to the forum.
    Have you been able to check out the XTI and D40 in person?

I purchased the XTI as my first DSLR and it is a great camera. With a good kit lens, 18-55mm, and with a $700 limit this lens should also work great for you. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...0mm_f_1_8.html. That lens is a great lens for the price, I also purchased this lens with my camera. Check out the post about the 50mm lens on the board.

Have fun,