Olympus E-420 or E-510?

Printable View

• 06-03-2008, 07:12 AM
    imblest
    Olympus E-420 or E-510?
    I really need someones advice on this one. I am new to the SLR world and I went out to circuit city the other day actually looking for an SP570 UZ but found this E-420 on a great sale with the 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 package along with an extra lens 40-150mm f3.5-4.5 all for $627.00 (plus tax to make it about $665.00) So I went home really quick and looked it up and found that it was something I was interested it. Knowing that deal wasn't going to last long and I wouldn't be able to get it any other day before it was over, I rushed back out and bought it since the store was going to close soon. Well then I played around with it and love it. But then my husband was looking it up online some more and found another great deal....it was the E-510 also with 2 lenses, 14-42mm f3.5-4.5 and the 40-150mm f4.0-5.6 for $617.00 with tax and shipping. So now I'm at a loss. I have about 12 days left to take back the E420 to Circuit City with their return policy and I need to know which is the better deal? Can anyone give their opinion and why they would say that.....like I said, I'm new to the DSLR world, so it may need some explaining. Thank you!!
  • 06-03-2008, 09:59 AM
    dumpy
    Re: Olympus E-420 or E-510?
    It really depends on what you are going to shoot, what your priorities are which one you like using better.

The E-510 ( my current camera) has in camera IS, this IMHO is huge. You can hand held shoot several stops down and not have a blurry image. If you have shakey hands get the 510.

the 420 is smaller, but not by much and may be easier to haul around. The 510 is still pretty small for a DSLR though. The 420 is newer and has the updated sensor, which from what I understand is a decent improvement. The E-520 (update to the 510) just came out and I believe it has this sensor.

I'm pretty sure that both kits have the same lenses.