Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Help the new guy buy a camera

Hello all, I have been thinking about upgrading my Minolta Maxxum 5 to a DSLR.

When I went to the local camera store about 2 weeks ago I was a little embarrassed that Minolta no longer made cameras, but I was relieved to find out that Sony made cameras that used the same mounts. I have been doing some research about the Sony A 350. This camera has what I would like to have in a DSLR, and its in a price range I can afford. When I was talking to the camera salesman he told me that most of my lenses would fit, but I may have some blurring around the edges because they were not designed for a digital camera. I was ok with that, I am not a professional photographer I just enjoy taking pictures from time to time. Then when I called back today (Monday) to check if they had any in stock a different salesman told me that my lenses would not work. Can someone tell me if my items would be compatible with a Sony A 350 please?

I have:

Minolta 70-210 49mm 1:4.5 - 5.6
    Phoenix 19-35 77mm 1:3.5 - 4.5
    Promaster 100-400 67mm 1:4.5 - 6.7

and a Quantaray PZ-1 DSZ (Sunpak?) Flash

Will these items work?

Re: Help the new guy buy a camera

but I may have some blurring around the edges because they were not designed for a digital camera
    Thats untrue, it actually works the other way around - lenses designed for APS digital cameras will have blurring around the edges on film. All that 'designed for digital' talk is mostly crapola.

Then when I called back today (Monday) to check if they had any in stock a different salesman told me that my lenses would not work