Nikon d80/Pentax K10D

Printable View

• 12-09-2006, 09:00 PM
    wpb
    Nikon d80/Pentax K10D
    I am in a quandry and am hoping that someone that isn't looking to make a sale and has some knowledge can give me some insights. I have shot with film SLR's (Minolta and Nikon) for many years. I went Digital with the Nikon 5700 3 years ago, but am now ready to spend the bucks for a DSLR. I was all set to get the Nikon D80 and then I saw the Pentax K10D. The Pentax looks like a better camera for the money, but is it? I have no experience with Pentax and haven't been able to lay hands on the K10D. I do not like the kit lens, or any of the Pentax lenses because of the zoom range. Tamron makes one that has exactly the range I am looking for 18-135mm. The down side of this combination is that I know nothing about Tamron lenses in general and nothing about this particular lens, and I don't know where to look. If you are serious about photography and have experience with Pentax or Tamron lenses I would like to hear what you have to say.
  • 12-10-2006, 06:32 AM
    deckcadet
    Re: Nikon d80/Pentax K10D
    Pentax isa great company that makes great cameras- but you without a doubt must consider the lens, flash, and accessory systems above the camera- a good camera is never worth it without a good lens.
    You can find some Tamron lens reviews here in our review section.

Tamron makes decent lenses, there are one or two really excellent ones, a few good ones, and some mediocre and poor ones too.
    Pentax makes some nice lenes too, but some of the best are more specialized and may not be what you're looking for.

Nikon has one of the most extensive lines out there and the consumer lenses are of very good quality.

If you feel that either system will suit you well, then move on to the body consideration: the main one being how does it fit you.
  • 12-17-2006, 09:08 AM
    trog100
    "The Pentax looks like a better camera for the money, but is it"