• 01-09-2010, 05:24 PM
    zipperfoot
    Nikon D700 vs. Canon EOS 5D Mark II
    Hey guys, me again, with the same inquiries.

I am a student going for photography in fall of this year, and I am looking to upgrade cameras. Most of what I do (almost all) is fashion photography and portraiture. I have been doing extensive research and talking to different people who have used all of the cameras I have been considering, and I *think* I have it narrowed down now to the Nikon D700 or the Canon EOS 5D (MkII). They are both exactly the same price and both have full frame sensors (which is a factor I include). Hearing what opinions you all have on them (including brands, lenses, options, etc.) would be greatly appreciated.

The last person I spoke with recommended the D700 because of its more focus points, it's fantastic performance in low light (which may not be a very common situation but would certainly help) and because of the famed Nikkor lenses (however, this also means they tend to run a little pricier... I have also noticed with Nikkor lenses that they tend to warp a little, but maybe this is just me and my inexperience with them talking. Plus then there's always Zeiss and other lenses). I also sort of like the way Canon is set up more, but... well.

Please let me know your opinions! Thanks.

EDIT: From what I've seen / heard so far, it seems like the D700 is the dream camera for journalism, portraiture, landscapes, and things that would really benefit from the extra focus points and extreme glass, whereas the Canon seems like it might be a better fit for what I'll be doing... I am also so far liking the way that the Canon sensor processes light more... Please let me know what you think!
    (I am not very familiar with either brand - I have been using Olympus for the past five years.)
    I have also read a few negative reviews on the 5D but have seen almost no negative reviews on the D700.
  • 01-09-2010, 10:37 PM
    Anbesol