Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Help Needed for Christmas Present

Hi all,

Please excuse this post from a complete novice at photography - I'm looking for a Christmas present for my wife, who does know what she's doing, but obviously I can't ask her about it.

She's always been against the idea of digital photography, complaining that the images look a little flat, though to be fair, her only real experience has been with photos taken by me on a Fuji Finepix 4700 thing, which is none to special (or the guy holding it). So I'm thinking that because she's always been a 35mm fan with additional lenses, that a digital SLR might be the way to go. I forgot to add, she's now decided that digital photography is the way to go, so I want to get her something that will suit her.

I looked at the sticky at the top of this forum, and am hoping that if I can give some answers to some of the questions posed, I might be able to get some suggestions, so here goes:

[1] Do you like PC / Photoshop?

Yep, and she's keen to learn more about it, though I think she'd also like to take some decent pictures without having to manipulate too much. 50/50 on that one I guess.

[2] How large do you want to print?

Not too large - I would say that 10" to 14" would be the absolute max, whilst most would be standard 6 x 4

[3] Tripod or Carry?

Carry for sure.

[4] Type of Subjects?

Landscapes, people and wildlife - definitely no sport for her.

[5] How important is photgraphy to you?

Well, she used to do all her own developing and it's something she's wanted to get back into but has never had the reason or the kit to do it, so I'd say it's pretty important as a serious hobby.

[5] Budget.