Nikon D3100, any good?

Printable View

• 11-19-2011, 10:37 PM
    0ptics
    Nikon D3100, any good?
    Hello everyone,

I decided to choose the Nikon D3100 as the camera to purchase, but I would like your guys' input on this camera. Just some background information, I plan to use it for landscape, scenery/outdoors, and people. I'm also a complete noob to cameras/DSLR's/photography and just wanted this specific DSLR cause supposedly it's very good/well-rated, easy to use, and great for beginners since its a entry-level DSLR. So that I just had a few basic questions about camera...

1) Though DSLR's are interchangeable when it comes to lens, does the stock 18-55m lens allow "Macro mode"?

2) Does the Nikon D3100 use a electric viewfinder or a optical viewfinder? Also is the difference and which is better?

3) Does the D3100 have burst shot? If so, how many shoots can be shot per mode?

4) Does the camera have fast shutter speed? Does it shoot as fast as I can click the shutter button?

5) I plan to spend no MORE than $550, which other entry levels would you suggest? I was looking at the Canon T3, Canon XS, and other entry level DSLR, but still prefer the Nikon D3100, but any other DSLR would you guys suggest?

I know I'm a complete beginner and these question a very noobie, but the help would be much appreciated. But yes would you say this is a great camera for beginners and a good entry-level DSLR?

Thanks for the help!!
    -0ptics
  • 11-20-2011, 02:52 AM
    Franglais
    Re: Nikon D3100, any good?
    This question would be better in the Digital SLR forum. I don't have a D3100 but I had a D60 for a while which is the same thing two generations back:

1. Does the kit 18-55 do macro?

>> The 18-55 focusses close enough to do flowers but if you want to do really small objects (insects) the Nikon 40mm f2.8 DX macro lens is not very expensive and is excellent (I have one)