Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Nikon D3 - is it really that good?

Hey guys! As the tittle says, is the Nikon D3 really that good? Or is it over hyped?

And how important is a good lense?

Please note that I'm very new to the world of photography and I know nothing, nothing at all about it. So when you answer my question, it would be good to give me a short explanation to the technical terms/jargon that you use .

Thanks in advance!

Re: Nikon D3 - is it really that good?

It's really that good, but it's definitely NOT for you. It's designed for professional photographers who don't care how big and heavy their cameras are, but only that they are fast, and can be used in the lowest light, and will be used with the best (most expensive) accessory lenses. The Nikon D3, as well as the Canon Ds MkIII, are designed for professionals who know how to operate them and exactly what it is that they can do that a more ordinary, smaller, less costly camera cannot do.

Thanks for your response! But I have some things to clarify about what you've said.

1) What can the d3 do that other cameras cannot do?
    2) What makes it so good?
    3) What do you mean by fast? Fast start up? low shutter lag? High FPS?
    4) If the D3 is good in low lights, why would one need a expensive big appreature lense, other than the blur in the forground and/or background?
    5) Say I don't care about the weight and money, what complications would I face when using the camera?

Quote Originally Posted by blazing fire
    Thanks for your response! But I have some things to clarify about what you've said.