Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Canon T4i vs. Sony A77

Hello,

I am planning to invest in a dSLR. I'm a beginner to these cameras. I was wondering which one should I get? Just more information: I'm probably going to use it more for filming videos and taking a couple shots upon my parents requests... (Vacations and stuff like that).

I was wondering which would be better?:

Canon EOS Digital Rebel T4i with 18-135mm STM Lens or Sony SLTA77VQ - a77 with 18-135mm Zoom Lens?

I chose these two because I found some recent deals on them lately and was planning to invest in one of these. Also money is no problem for me.

I heard the 18-135mm STM lens is great for shooting video because it can auto refocus real quick but the a77 was claim to be the fastest (claim was somewhere I forgot; I think it's the camera's main page?)

Thank you for reading!

Re: Canon T4i vs. Sony A77

Technically, both cameras are excellent, so it really comes down to how these bodies handle and feel for you.
    Volker
    Nikon D7200
    Nikon P7100
    Nikon 16-80/2.8-4 ED VR
    Nikon 55-200 VR II

Keeping it light and simple.

If video AF is your priority, you need a Sony. - Terry
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

Quote Originally Posted by OldClicker View Post
    If video AF is your priority, you need a Sony. - Terry
    Why Sony, Terry? Can you give us some detail about what Sony is better? I think the general impression is that Canon is the video leader. What does Sony have that Canon doesn't?
    Photo-John