Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

New to DSLR's-- would like advice on which to purchase first.

I've been looking to get into DSLRs for a while, as I've been using point-and-shoot's for about 4 years now... I've so far only been using Canon PowerShot's, and while I have been getting some excellent photos with these, I'm looking to upgrade into the DSLR level. My dilemma comes with this, as I cannot come to a decision between the Canon Digital Rebel XTI and possibly a Nikon... of some sort.

Could someone give me some insight on which would be better for me to start out with? My budget is not really in question here... I have no experience with Nikons, but my boyfriend swore by his D70, and is about to get a new D80 here in a few days. What I'm hearing is that Canon lenses aren't as good as the Nikkor lenses... but I'm not sure if I should really be worrying about that right away since this would be my first time with a DSLR anyway...

Any ideas on whether I should stick with Canon, or should I venture into the land of Nikon and then of course, which Nikon would be the best route to go, to start out with...

Thanks! (:

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: New to DSLR's-- would like advice on which to purchase first.

Of course the canon users will say Canon and the Nikon users will say Nikon.
    I went with a Nikon D80 with an 18-135 lens and have no complaints as I had researched it enough to know what I would get and what it would and wouldn't do.
    Canon xti users are equally happy with their purchase.
    You also should not eliminate Pentax or Olympus. Their users are happy too from most of what I read.