Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: Buzzing AF lens

Unhappy Buzzing AF lens

Hello everybody,
    This is my first time posting on here,so please be gentle!
    Here's my problem-I have a Sony A200 with a standard 18-70 zoom,and it's been absolutely fine for the few months I've had it...until this morning.
    I switched it on and an unholy,violent BUZZZZ came out of the lens! I switched it off and the same noise happened again!
    I've only ever taken the lens off once,when I first got the camera(it's the only lens I have),so I don't think any foreign bodies could've gotten in to jam the mechanism or dirty-up the contacts,which is kinda what it sounds like.
    Can anyone help me figure out what the trouble might be?Has this happened to anyone else?
    I'd like to avoid taking it in for expensive repairs if possible!

Re: Buzzing AF lens

First, since I assume it's still under warrantee, take it back to get it checked out.

To try to diagnose it:

Does the zoom ring turn smoothly?

Put the camera on Manual Focus (slide switch on the front, I think). Does the focus ring turn smoothly?

Remove the lens and turn the camera on. Still make the noise? If not, put it back on. Noise again?

TF
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

Unfortunately the missus got me the camera from a home-shopping catalogue,so although in theory I could return it,it would be such a huge hassle I'd rather explore other avenues first.