Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Best SLR for around $1000?

Hey everyone!

I'm doing a bit of research into buying a good quality camera. I've got around $1000 to spend, but I don't know that much about Digital SLRs. I was wondering if you could help steer me into the right direction.

I'd like a camera that has a quick start up time. I'd also like to be able to snap pictures quickly (I don't want to take a picture, wait for it to load....., snap...load......, you get the idea).

I'll be taking picture of fast action sports, as well as landscape photos. I'm not a professional photographer, but just came into some money and want a really nice camera.

The $1000 (or around) should include a lens if possible too. What do you think? Any suggestions? Thanks for your help everyone! If you have any more questions let me know:thumbsup:

Re: Best SLR for around $1000?

sorry.. i should say i've been doing my research and looking at canons. I've had good previous experience with them, but have never owned a dSLR from any manufacturer. I realize my first post was quite a loaded one. But anything to help me further research would be swell.

Kentucky Wildlife

Since you have $1,000 to spend on the entire package, I would suggest spending as much or more on the lens than you do on the body. You don't need over 10 mp for good prints. Sharp glass will determine image quality more than mp.

Kentucky Wildlife

You might find a better bang for you bucks with Sony, Panasonic, Kodak or some other less popular brand.

I'm skeptical on mp. I remember reading a while ago that manufactures have found a way to bloat the mp on cameras. I look at mp on cameras like I look at gigahertz on computer processors.