Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

need advice from DSLR users, esp Canon owners

Hi everyone,
    I need help on 2 issues:

1) Do I deserve a DSLR?
    I’ve already read through many articles and forum posts on the topic of P&S vs DSLR so I know the pros and cons of both. Instead I’d like your advice/opinions on whether the type of photography I do justifies my desire for a DSLR.

I've never owned or used a DSLR before. I’ve used a Canon Powershot A80 for the past 5 years. It served me well and the only reason I’m getting a new camera is because I lost it a couple of months ago

I'm a student on a tight budget, so if I get a DSLR I won’t be buying additional lenses anytime soon. I’ve used various modes like landscape, night and sports and have a basic understanding of shutter speed, but haven’t ventured into fully manual, although I’m willing to try.

The types of photos I take are:
    - night scenes (city skylines, buildings lit up at night)
    - nature macro esp. flowers
    - travel photography (buildings, architecture, cities from high rise viewpoints)
    - nature landscapes (mountains, rivers, clouds)
    - occasionally animals
    - people at parties/functions

I normally don’t do any post processing of photos. My photos are for personal use, like posting online or for use as PC wallpaper. When I print photos it’s usually photo album size (3R/4R).

Photography is only a hobby for me, but I'm still particular about taking clear, beautiful pictures. I’m always trying to get the perfect shot and usually end up with a dozen photos of the same thing.

So, does all this justify getting a DSLR?

2) Canon 400D or 450D