Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Buying advice for a beginner

Hello all,

I'm hoping you can help me pick the camera I should be buying. I'm brand new to DSLRs, but have always liked photography and really want to give my hand at it. I get a discount towards certain camera's through my work, so I've narrowed it down to the following options. None of these options has something over the others in terms of features that I really want, so that doesn't help me decide.

I'll also mention that I'd prefer to keep costs low, since I'm not sure if I'm really going to dive into this or not... however, if paying more up front is going to result in a camera I'll be much happier with, I'm willing to do it.

The cameras are:
    Nikon D5000 - $579
    Cannon XSi - $579
    Cannon XS - $475
    Sony A330 - $250

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Re: Buying advice for a beginner

Do you have any experience with photography; like with a non-DSLR? If so, what do you shoot now and what don't you shoot because you can't get it right? Do these deals include the kit lens?

IMO, I don't see how you could pass up the A330 at that price. You can pick up an excellent used Minolta 50mm f/1.7 for $50 and really find out if you like photography for $300.

TF
    -----------------
    I am no better than you. I critique to teach myself to see.
    -----------------
    Feel free to edit my photos or do anything else that will help me learn.
    -----------------
    Sony/Minolta - way more gear than talent.

First point: What are you going to do with the camera?