• 03-09-2014, 04:28 PM
    jeshuster14
    Looking to buy a camera - need some help!
    Hi yall,

Sorry in advance if this is the wrong forum to post to - if so please could somebody move it for me?
    I'm looking to buy my first ever SLR camera, have between 300-600 dollars to spend, and am looking for some help in choosing which one. I've shot photography for awhile on a digital camera, my iphone (using editing apps) and on friends' SLRs, and am finally ready to purchase my own. Please any help is greatly appreciated since I'm very new to actually looking into purchasing an SLR and am very unfamiliar with camera terms/cost/what exactly I'll need to buy. Thanks in advance yall!
  • 03-10-2014, 01:58 PM
    jeshuster14
    Re: Looking to buy a camera - need some help!
    any help is greatly appreciated!
  • 03-10-2014, 07:27 PM
    volks
    Lots to choose from. Have a look at the Nikon D3200.
    Go to a Camera store and play around with different brands within your budget.
  • 03-11-2014, 10:34 AM
    mattb
    If you need a weatherproof camera there are some good deals on older (but still pretty recent) Pentax cameras like the K-5, K-5 II, and K-5 IIs (all 16MP). They are a less dominant brand and not the king of fast sports shooting (although not bad IMO) but if you like to hike/ski/bike to remote locations and shoot in harsh environments like I do they are great for that and give good IQ at a good price.
    For any camera realize you are buying into a system. So make sure the lenses that suit the kind of shooting you want to do are available and affordable. For nature, landscape, and adventure I really like this system.
  • 03-12-2014, 11:56 AM
    Franglais
    Having a DSLR is a long-term investment in lenses, bodies, accessories (flash) etc. In 40 years of SLR ownership I have had 5 different systems fold on me, go out of business, end of life, etc. This has made me - pragmatic. My first rule: