Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Basic Necessities

I'm about to venture into the SLR world. I plan on getting the Canon 40D body only and purchasing a Canon 50mm F/1.8 II lens on the side

I'm fully aware that I may need the follow:
    -extra batteries
    -Filters
    -Lens Hood
    -Add-on Flash

My questions are...
    What type of Add-on Flash do I get specifically?
    What type of filters do I get specifically?
    Do I really need a lens hood??

I am still a major newbie and just want some opinions on what you guys think is appropriate for me to purchase.
    Any suggestions are welcomed!
    =)

Re: Basic Necessities

Polarizer and UV filter are two essential ones. Neutral densities can be useful at times, particularly the Cokin filter style, where you can use it in a horizon as a graduated density filter. Then of course, a soft edge graduated density filter for a wider tonal shift in exposure. I'd explore other filter options too, theres a ton of filter types out there that offer their own unique application, a diffusion filter can give a soft focus effect that works well in many portraits, for example. You may even like Infrared imaging, in which case you would need an IR filter (and a lot of patience).