• 08-29-2005, 12:51 PM
    Galam
    Aperture question.
    Hi,

I am interested in photographing birds and flowers. Currently, I have the "Nikkor 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF" and "Nikkor 55-200mm f/4.0-5.6 AF G ED AF-S DX" lens for my Nikon D70s, but I found them to be not sharp enough.

Maybe this is due to my lack of photographic skills since I am pretty new to SLR. I shoot most of my photos on small aperture (large f-number ). This is because I read somewhere says that a large f-number will give me less depth of field which is great for isolating the subject from its surroundings. But the small aperture cause me to not able to use fast shutter speed.

What aperature do most people use for flower photography? Do I need a faster lens?

Thanks!
  • 08-29-2005, 08:59 PM
    Chunk
    Re: Aperture question.
    You have the effect of aperture on depth of field (dof) backwards. A small aperture (higher number) has a greater dof than a large aperture.
    Another thing that will effect dof is the focal length of your lens. You will have more dof on the shorter focal lengths.
    Use a tripod to allow slower shutter speeds when needed and use a higher ISO setting to keep the times short as possible. If the problem is movement of the flower from wind, try blocking the wind somehow. I used a friends kid for that last week.
    Also lenses are sharpest generally a couple stops from full open.
    Remember that the zone of acceptable focus is 1/3 in front of and 2/3 behind the actual focus point so focus partway into your scene, not at the closest or farthest part of the flower.
  • 08-29-2005, 09:42 PM
    Galam
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Chunk
    You have the effect of aperture on depth of field (dof) backwards. A small aperture (higher number) has a greater dof than a large aperture.
    Another thing that will effect dof is the focal length of your lens. You will have more dof on the shorter focal lengths.

Thanks chunk!