Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: 'fuzzy' photos?

'fuzzy' photos?

Hi all,

I've noticed that some of my photos come out a bit 'fuzzy'. I'm quite new to DSLR photography so I'm hoping I'm just making some beginner mistake. Below is a photo from a recent trip to Egypt that seems fuzzy to me. Other photos turned out great, so maybe it's lighting or haze? I'm using a Nikon D40, 18-55mm lens, and either a Hoya Pro 1D circular polarizer or UV filter. Thanks for any advice you can offer.

project forum co-moderator Frog's Avatar

Re: 'fuzzy' photos?

Not sure but it looks like camera movement to me.
    Keep Shooting!

CHECK OUT THE PHOTO PROJECT FORUM
    http://forums.photographyreview.com/...splay.php?f=34

Please refrain from editing my photos without asking.

Can you post the exif, in other words iso, shutter speed, aperture?
    Mike
    www.specialtyphotoandprinting.com
    Canon 30D X 2, Canon 100-400L, Thrift Fifty, Canon 18-55 IS 3rd generation lens plus 430 EX II flash and Better Beamer. :thumbsup:

Here's the info I can pull from Capture NX. If it is indeed camera shake, would I have gotten a crisper shot with a VR lens?

If you are getting camera shake at 18mm shot at 1/320 second, you need practice gently depressing the shutter, not mashing it. If you are a bit unsteady, VR would help. In reality, you should be able to handhold that lens at 18mm (270mm crop factor), at a shutter speed as slow as 1/270 second. If VR works as well as IS on Canon lenses, you should be able to shoot at 2 shutter speeds slower.
    Mike
    www.specialtyphotoandprinting.com
    Canon 30D X 2, Canon 100-400L, Thrift Fifty, Canon 18-55 IS 3rd generation lens plus 430 EX II flash and Better Beamer. :thumbsup: