• 12-25-2008, 01:26 PM
    mwfair
    How large a print can I go??
    How do I know how large my digital prints can get before they become distorted? I'm trying to find an online photo lab that processes digital prints but would also like one that can enhance the photo if I want to go up to 20x30. Any idea's, help, labs that I should look at? Also, I currently shoot in jpeg format, should my shots be taken in RAW format if I want to go that big?
  • 12-25-2008, 02:50 PM
    Frog
    Re: How large a print can I go??
    I use mpix and adorama for developing but don't know if they can or will do any enhancing other than color correction.
    What camera? Pixel quantity(though 6 or more should do).
    Are you doing any post processing? The final should be sharpened.
    One thing that will give you an idea is to magnify your shot to 100% and see if it still looks good, though I'd guess that it it looks good at 33 or 50, you could still get a good 20x30 out of it.
    I'm not an expert so I'd keep watching the thread for other advice.
  • 12-25-2008, 02:56 PM
    Franglais
    Quote:

Originally Posted by mwfair
    How do I know how large my digital prints can get before they become distorted? I'm trying to find an online photo lab that processes digital prints but would also like one that can enhance the photo if I want to go up to 20x30. Any idea's, help, labs that I should look at? Also, I currently shoot in jpeg format, should my shots be taken in RAW format if I want to go that big?

They won't become distorted. They will appear to be less sharp and and pixelated after a while - if you go up and bury your face in the image. Normally the larger the print the further the viewing distance.

Optimum MPix for a given print size are as follows (source = Chasseurs d'Images). This means that if you do an A3 size print from a 24Mpix camera you probably won't see any difference compared with a 12Mpix camera

12MPix = A3 = 12x16.5 inches
    24Mpix = A2 = 16.5x23.5 inches