• 11-21-2007, 10:46 PM
    Dirkleton
    Help Choosing a Digital SLR
    - Do you like to work with the computer and Photoshop?
    - How large do you want to print on a more regular basis?
    - Do you plan to use a solid tripod and carry it more often than not?
    - What kind of subjects do you like to photograph?
    - How important is photography to you?
    - Of course the budget is important too. Buying a camera and a few lenses is not all!

Good Evening Ladies and Gentlemen,

I'm a kind of newb to photography but have been taking pictures here and there for a couple of years. I really don't know any of the terminology, but I'd really like to do more in photography. So, let me answer the above questions in order:

- Yes, computers are no problem for me.
    - Normally medium 8.5" x 11" sizes, but I'd like to be able to blow them up to much larger dimensions if need be, like 16"?
    - I'm not sure what a "solid" tripod is, but I like using monopods
    - Sports like: baseball, football, soccer, lacrosse, etc. in day or night. But I'd also like to be able to do scenic shots during the day or night (like large overviews of the new city I live in from atop hills)
    - Not greatly important, but a hobby I'd like to learn and develop and become profeccient at.
    - My budget right now is about $1,000 to $1,500 for a camera body, small, and large lens.

My family likes to go Sony and for the past year and a half or so I've been able to use the Sony Alpha 100 with the 17-55mm and 75-300mm lens.

Thanks for any advice you can give me...and if there's something outside of my budget but would be a great camera for my specifications please don't hesitate to suggest that one too.

Cheers,

-Dirk
  • 11-23-2007, 03:59 PM
    cyberlord
    Re: Help Choosing a Digital SLR
    There is nothing wrong with the Sony A100. Did you like the feel of it when you held it? Did you like the quality of the lenses?