Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Help! Canon Rebel External Flash

Hi, my problem is I got an external flash that works with my Canon Rebel, but I can't get it to shoot consistently. One shot will be awesome, and then I'll take another, and it'll be too dark.

I don't want the camera to do any of it's own "thinking". I want to set it to it takes the same shot with the same flash brightness every. single. time.

Even in manual mode, I'm still getting the inconsistent issue (perhaps there are still settings I need to tweak that I don't know about. I'm a novice here).

Please help!!

Toon Army Foot Soldier straightarm's Avatar

Re: Help! Canon Rebel External Flash

this might be stating the obvious, but are you allowing the flash enough time to recharge after each exposure?
    Simon, bombadier 1st class

Are you shooting manual mode from the camera? Or only setting manual flash?

Are you angling it? Is the angle changing in between the shots?

Excellent read on using EOS Flash units: http://photonotes.org/articles/eos-flash/

Quote Originally Posted by maedus
    I don't want the camera to do any of it's own "thinking". I want to set it to it takes the same shot with the same flash brightness every. single. time.