• 10-25-2008, 04:48 PM
    advs1
    hello all, D300 for beginer ?'s
    hello all, as the title states, I am new to the world of DSLR cameras. but since my wife is buying me a camera for my birthday, i think i like the D300 by nikon. i am a little worried it is too much camera for a newb? i have looked at almost every website and am very thankful i found this site as it helped me from making a big mistake with regards to whom i am buying from.

any how, i have a professional auto detailing business and would like to expand my ability to take better before pictures of cars i work on. i have a simple point and click right now, but seeing other more experienced detailers using DSLR cameras and coming up with great pictures, i want to up my game so to speak. the main use will be for close up pictures of paint condition on cars before i correct the paint and full pictures after. i would also be using the camera for family, vacation and maybe just to get creative. i did attend art center college of design in pasadena so i have an art back ground. i am getting the camera used, but it looks new and has a US warranty.

any and all input would be greatly appreciated.
  • 10-25-2008, 07:56 PM
    Frog
    Re: hello all, D300 for beginer ?'s
    The d300 is a great camera(so I hear) but for what you are wanting to use it for, you can get very good results from something less expensive.
    What you will want with whatever you get is a very sharp lens and I hope someone with more expertise than I will respond as to what lenses will work best.
    The alternate thought process is to go ahead with the D300 and a sharp lens for the work camera and then if you start getting creative with photography and want more out of it, you'll have one of the best cameras out there for that.
  • 10-26-2008, 07:49 AM
    deckcadet