• 01-31-2010, 07:57 AM
    clk550lover
    Extended Service Plan - Are they REALLY Worth it?
    Hello folks............

I recently joined this forum and found this forum VERY interesting and full of useful information.

I am a novice BUT willing to learn digital photography. I am seriously, thinking of purchasing either Canon EOS 50D (most likely) or Nikon D90. I went to a nearest Best Buy and saw these cameras. Both are slightly heavy as compared to other plastic-bodied cameras. I, think either one of them will be a good choice for under $2000 (with nice lenses). I am planning on going on a safari in Africa in 2011 and thought either one of these cameras will serve my purpose along with some NICE BUT INEXPENSIVE lenses.

Will you buy the extended service plan say from Best Buy or COMPUSA or Canon? I know these service plans are sometimes rip-off BUT since I have limited (or nil) knowledge in this field, I am NOT in a position to judge the merits of these plans. Hence, I need your HELP. will you please HELP me ? :confused:

If yes, which plan is better (BTW, Canon has its own plan called "CarePAK) ?

Do they REALLY cover everything or just a marketing gimmick or scaring tactics for extra profit?

Also, to keep my budget under $2K, which lenses (wide & Telephoto) will you recommend for Canon EOS 50D ?

Thanks a LOT
  • 01-31-2010, 08:15 AM
    OldClicker
    Re: Extended Service Plan - Are they REALLY Worth it?
    Extended service plans, on average, are not worth the money. Of course, if your camera breaks...

More importantly - spend less on the body and more on the lens(es) - especially for something like a safari.

TF
  • 01-31-2010, 10:49 AM
    clk550lover
    Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I could not agree more when you wrote "More importantly - spend less on the body and more on the lens(es) - especially for something like a safari.".