EOS 300D vs. D70

Printable View

• 04-01-2004, 07:08 AM
    eric
    EOS 300D vs. D70
    I have decided to move from compact digital to SRL digital camera, but I can't decide between the Canon and Nikon entry-level products. I am new to the SLR world, so I have no existing lens collection, no accessories that would influence the choice.

I read several reviews of the Canon that pointed out to the bad quality of indoors shots (chronic overexposure) and low quality of the 18-55 lens in the pack.

On the other end, the initial opinions of the Nikon 18-70 DX bundled lens seem much more positive. However, first users have criticized the viewfinder.

Is this important? What matters most?

I am interested in your opinions on this. I need some advice on how to make the choice.

Thanks!
  • 04-01-2004, 08:55 AM
    Michael Fanelli
    Quote:

Originally Posted by eric
    I have decided to move from compact digital to SRL digital camera, but I can't decide between the Canon and Nikon entry-level products. I am new to the SLR world, so I have no existing lens collection, no accessories that would influence the choice.

I read several reviews of the Canon that pointed out to the bad quality of indoors shots (chronic overexposure) and low quality of the 18-55 lens in the pack.

On the other end, the initial opinions of the Nikon 18-70 DX bundled lens seem much more positive. However, first users have criticized the viewfinder.

I am interested in your opinions on this. I need some advice on how to make the choice.

Thanks!

First, every new camera is given high praise and then there is a backlash. Look at some of the nasty D70 comments showing up around the net... the honeymoon for Nikon didn't even have a chance!