Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Talking Help me choose the right camera and lens

Hi everyone new to the board here as if you couldnt tell

Anyway I am new to DSLR's and looking to get one. Million dollar question is which one. I have done research and it seems as if it is 6 of one half dozen of the other on the cameras. So then we go to the lenses and thats where I am lost.

The cameras I am looking at are the Canon xti, nikon D80, Sony A100, and since it just came out the Pentax k10d

A little bit of background most of my pictures will be of mostly ducks in flight and other wildlife but also landscapes and scenery.

Right now I am favoring the Sony and Pentax simply for the fact of the anti shake built into the camera. So I wont have to buy the pricey lenses with it in the lens correct?

Speaking of lenses most of my shots would probably be in the 400 to 600mm range so this is where I get confused. I dont want to take out a second mortgage to buy the lenses, so which camera offers the best lenses in quality, affordibility, and selection? Would it be better getting a zoom lens that goes to 400 and use an extender? or go for the lens that goes to 500 or 600?

So lets here your suggestions as far as camera and lens goes that take crisp sharp pictures at the extended range without breaking the bank.

Thanks in advance

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Re: Help me choose the right camera and lens