Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

difference from slr and advanced point and shoot

Im a beginner to photography, i have jus been using my old digital camera but i am looking to purchase something a little bit more expensive. I was wondering whats the main differences between advanced point and shoots, and the SLR cameras. If you have any recomendations on cameras, im only interested in digital.

Poster Formerly Known as Michael Fanelli mwfanelli's Avatar

Re: difference from slr and advanced point and shoot

Quote Originally Posted by jessepizzles
    Im a beginner to photography, i have jus been using my old digital camera but i am looking to purchase something a little bit more expensive. I was wondering whats the main differences between advanced point and shoots, and the SLR cameras. If you have any recomendations on cameras, im only interested in digital.
    A DSLR will give you much better image quality, high quality high ISO shots, and versatility. The downside is that it takes a lot more photographic knowledge to use, is much more expensive, and heavier and bulkier to carry.

Based on your short question, you would probably be better off with a P&S. It will do pretty much anything you want, it's smaller and simpler to use, and requires little, if any, post-processing. The image quality won't be as good but you have to specifically look for the differences in most cases. High ISOs are usually pretty bad.Try them out at a store and get one with a short shutter lag. IS is also a good option.

I have both a P&S and a DSLR and use each one about equally depending upon what I'm working with.