Digital image quality

Printable View

• 03-26-2004, 05:09 AM
    Digital fence sitter
    Digital image quality
    As a newbie here, I wonder if I can seek some input to my upcoming big (for me) investment. I am planning to upgrade from my old Spotmatic, and am currently focussing (!) on the choice between an Ist and a IstD.

I am inclining towards the IstD, but can't afford/don't want to upgrade every few years (says the man still using a 30 yo camera).

My question is - just how good is the image quality of the 6mp sensor, compared to 35mm film. I am not interested in comparing the best film outputs with digital, just in getting the closest like-for-like comparison.

I guess the bottom line is, how quickly will a IstD become noticeably obsolete in so far as it's image quality is concerned?

As a side issue, is it the same sensor in the EOS300D, D70 (and others?)?

I am following Photo-John's trial with interest, and would be very interested in your comments P-J ...
  • 03-26-2004, 07:48 AM
    Norman
    I'm in a similar position......
    I'm still the proud owner of a Nikon FM, which I bought new 27 years ago. I would like to up grade to a Digital SLR. I'm thinking of the Canon 10D.
    The issues are these, will you get comparable enlargements to 10x8, yes, will you notice the difference in comparing film to digital, not readily. You will have to do more computer work, but you will get more out of your images. I used to hate shooting with film, thinking I had great technically exposed shots only to find I had great compostion, who's expouseure was not always spot on.