• 07-17-2007, 01:41 PM
    Clarkey1972
    Depth of Field / Nikon D50
    Hi there
    I am fairly new to the digi SLR world......

Can anyone help me trying to get some DOF in my shots. I use it mainly for fishing trophy shots or portraits of the kids and only have the standard lense 18-55 that came with it.

Using my old 35mm SLR using a low F no usually got me the desired affect but i am really struggling and know if its a problems with low end digi's or the lense needs changing.

If so can anyone recommend a good lense?

Thanks in advance

Rich
  • 07-17-2007, 03:44 PM
    deckcadet
    Re: Depth of Field / Nikon D50
    Hi Rich,

Depth of field is a term that describes a property of the technical execution of a photo, but without the appropriate modifier in front I can't tell what result it is that you're aiming for. Are you trying to have shallow depth of field and isolate the subject?

Greater depth of field will occur with a wider focal length and/or a focus distance nearer to infinity, and with a smaller aperture (bigger f/ number).
    Less depth of field, and thus greater isolation, is more easily achieved with a wider aperture (small f/number), longer focal length, and closer focus distance.

You might want to try shooting with a wide open aperture, at the middle or longer end of your zoom range, at a closer distance than you usually do.
    Remember the crop factor of digital gives you the impression of shooting with a longer lens on film but the lens properties remain the same. It's probably more related to the lens than anything else.

What lens did you shoot with before?