Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Camera and lens question

Hi to all,

as you can seen I am a newbie to this forum but have been surfing on this site for some time now.

My current camera is Canon S1 IS but in near future I am going to buy DSLR with some lenses. As I am a keen windsurfer and I like to take a good windsurfing photo my choice is Canon EOS 20D with original 18-55 mm and Sigma 80-400 mm EX OS lenses.

As I stated before my only experience is with Powershot which has a 35-350 mm lens. This equals 10X optical zoom. Does this mean that with 640 mm on EOS 20D (400 mmx1,6 crop factor) I would have around 20X optical zoom?

I also wonder if the photos taken in cloudy weather at maximum zoom (with particular Sigma lens) will be usable due to low light enviroment? Can this be compensated with Canon's high and noise free ISO setting?

How usable is this lens on 300-400 mm setting without using tripod?

What about using 2x converter with this sigma lens? Would it take away too much light (too high f stop)?

I also like to shoot landscapes. Would original Canon 18-55 mm lens suit me fine or should I invest in some other lens?

Re: Camera and lens question

The 10X refers to the range of the zoom itself, not the magnification of the zoom. In other words 10X35=350. The sigma at 80-400 is a 5X zoom 5X80=400. With a lens of f/4.5-5.6 you will have to up the ISO on a cloudy day to be able to select a shutter speed that will stop the action. I find my 300 f/4 to be slow quite often at the edge of light.
    The 18-55(about 3x zoom)is merely an adequate lens. It is capable of taking fine photographs, but tends to be a little soft at wider apertures. The 17-40 f/4L or 17-85 IS are better choices optically.