Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Choosing a SLR or DSLR

So a couple years ago I bought a regular point and shoot camera and loved taking pictures with it. Now the time has come to start making my move in to amaetur photography. I've been trying to decide whether to get a Nikon n80 (slr) - used for $350 including lens from my friend - or a DSLR from amazon (not sure which one).

I could really use some advice on what to get. I am a college student with a part time job not earning much money but am still putting some cash to the side for a camera. Should I buy the SLR camera or wait and save up some more cash and get like a $900 DSLR? I want to make photography a real hobby and incorporate into my website design business.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Re: Choosing a SLR or DSLR

Speaking as a fellow college student, my advice would be to go digital. If you take a lot of pictures, you'll end up paying more in film development than the difference between a film and digital SLR. Photography is a hobby of mine, and I'm glad that I don't have to pay to print every single picture that I take. If I have a couple pictures that I want to have framed, I can just put them on a CD or upload them for printing. I also think that digital is better if you're doing web design. If you want to put film pictures up, you either have to have the lab put them on a CD (usually at an extra cost) or get a high quality scanner, which is an extra investment. So IMHO, digital photography is actually the most budget friendly option, even though the initial investment may be more...

I don't know how to put this, but...I'm kind of a big deal...People know me.

My Dumb Web Page

Down by Five: