Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
    Britpol

Can I use an extension with this lens for birds please?

I have a Sony 100 with the 18-70 lens and a Tamron AF aspherical LD 28-300 macro lens. Would it help me to use an extension with it for birds? If so, which one? Any advice is very welcome because I'm an absolute beginner.
    Thanks in advance- Les (Britpol0

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Re: Can I use an extension with this lens for birds please?

Hi Les,

I do not think that lens is compatible with a teleconverter. The 28-300 is slow as it is, with a tc it would be very difficult to get any shots with it except in really bright sunny conditions, and it would be manual focus only. If birding is something you are really serious about, I would start saving up for a faster/longer lens.

Britpol

Hi flickr- thanks for the advice my friend. I'm a REAL beginner so any advice would be most welcome. Yes, I really want to photograph wildlife and birds in particular. Living in Poland as I do gives me the chance to see some nice ones. Not that all birds are not nice. In Poland it's wise to be careful when buying equipment used. Much of it is stolen or doesn't work. The sellers can do it because the legal system here is slow and not good. Once more thanks.
    Les (Britpol)

Nature/Wildlife Forum Co-Moderator Loupey's Avatar

I wouldn't advise it

You may find one that fits (mechanically) but the result, as Canuck mentioned, would be an awfully slow lens and probably soft images.

That Tamron is an f/6.3 wide open at 300mm. So if you get a 2x TC, it would be an f/13 lens wide open at 600mm - darker than many spotting scopes.