Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Question Fixed or Zoom lens?

i'm really thinking about getting a seperate lens when i purchase my camera, but i'm unsure about whether fixed or zoom would be best.
    i figured that zoom would be great for versatility. a flower one minute, a volleyball game the next.
    but i researched a few and the aperture's not great for things like sports.
    while the fixed lenses are better in that aspect, i wouldn't want to have 7 different lengths for 7 different occasions.

any suggestions?
    i'm very very new to this and eager to learn, so please feel free to correct anything i've said.
    help is greatly appreciated, thank you so much in advance
    DSLR Newbie

Looking into buying a Canon EOS Rebel XSi 12.2 megapixel DSLR with kit lens (Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6)

But still doing my homework

Re: Fixed or Zoom lens?

i am fairly new to this as well, so take this for what its worth.

fixed focal length lenses are generally better pieces of glass, however, like you mentioned, they are not very versatile.
    my recommendation would be to get a couple of zooms to start off so you can learn (about the camera and what fixed lenses you might need) and then save for a fixed max aperture zoom, something like the 70-200 f/2.8L.
    and then get a few fixed focal aswel, i have heard good things about both of these, the 50mm f/1.4 and the 100mm f/2.8 macro.

thats my two cents anyway, good luck.
    kyle:thumbsup:

Nikon D90
    Tamron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3
    Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G VR ED
    Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 AF macro (1:2)