Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Buying a Digital Rebel

Hi everyone, I'm a poor college student, but I've been saving up some money with my crappy job so that I can buy this Canon Digital Rebel camera which looks beautiful.

I realize that there are better cameras out there, but this one is the only one that's in my price range, and should definitely satisfy my needs.

Anyways, a year or two ago, I bought a canon powershot A70 which was fine for my needs back then, but after buying it, I've watched it's price drop lower and lower with the releases of newer cameras such as A75 and A80. So I came here to ask you, are there any anticipated price drops for the digital rebel?

I live in Canada, and here it costs 1,299 right now, but I'm sure the price would significantly drop if a new camera was released in the near future. Can anyone tell me if Canon will release anything soon? or maybe they've announced price drops to compete with D70?

Any help on the price matter would be appreciated.

Re: Buying a Digital Rebel

Back in August, I heard a rumor from the author of a couple digital photography books.... He gave no specifics, but he indicated that waiting might not be a bad idea.

I don't know if he meant waiting for the Photokina show, and if so, then I guess Canon did not upgrade.

ps. Hope you budgeted for a CF card, too. :-)
    Drink Coffee. Do stupid things faster with more energy.

one more thing: anything computer WILL be upgraded on a regular schedule, rendering previous models and prices obsolete. So you have to get used to watching the price drop. It all depends on whether you can wait or not, and if you're satisfied buying an older model once the new ones come out.

thanks for the replies, guys.