Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Walk Around Lens Pros/Cons

I am new to digital SLR cameras and have been doing some research into the types of cameras and lenses I should get. I have pinpointed the camera that I think I'm going to go with, the Canon xsi, but I'm still up in the air about which lens(es) i should get with it. The place I am looking to get the camera from has a couple of packages: 1) includes the 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 Auto Focus Lens; 2) includes the 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 Aspherical Macro Mini Zoom Auto Focus Lens and the 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Auto Focus Macro lens. My question is regarding the pros/cons of the 'all-in-one lens' vs using two different lenses. Should I expect to see any difference in picture quality if use one set over the other for a similar application? Any other suggestions/recommendations will be well received.

Thanks for the help!

May the force be with you Canuck935's Avatar

Re: Walk Around Lens Pros/Cons

No. All of the lenses in question are ok, I doubt you'd see any difference. Though all of those lenses you mentioned are really robbing you of the wide end. Perhaps you should buy the body only and match it to a good wide to short or medium telephoto zoom.

Also, what place are you looking to get the camera from?? Those seem to be somewhat oddball lens packages. You may want to research the seller..

Liz

Quote Originally Posted by wileymiester