Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>
    The Giraffe

Differences in megapixels... important?

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to get a DSLR for outdoor action photography, more often than not at the beach. I'm a beginner, and I'm looking to either get a Nikon D40 or D40x. There's a significant difference in price, which would mean a significant difference in time before I can afford it.

My question to you all is:

Someone I know told me that megapixels are essentially just a marketing scheme, and that the 4.1 mp difference between the D40 and D40x wouldn't really make a difference unless I was to blow up a picture. Is this true? Or is there a noticeable difference regardless of blown-up prints?

Check out our D300 Pro Review! deckcadet's Avatar

Re: Differences in megapixels... important?

It's pretty similar in all honesty. The D40 has fantastic acuity- remember it isn't just quantity, but quality of pixels even in DSLRs- and renders a ton of detail. A D40 will output images at 3008x2000 pixels, while the D40x will output at 3872x2592 pixels. In terms of linear resolution, you get about 28% more pixels you can crop out in either dimension and get the same print size. Either will be sharp and both are good at high ISO.

Now it isn't all just marketing hoopla, megapixels do matter, but for most hobbyists it won't be a big difference. The Nikon D2Hs was only 4.1mp, but it had such good quality sensor and processing electronics that it held up like it was a 6+mp camera. I printed from my D2Hs bigger than I ever printed from the D70.
    Harrison
    Nikon Forum / Digital SLR Forum Moderator | moderator bio
    Check out our new Nikon D300 Pro Review D3 review coming soon...
    Nikon Samurai #9 | NPS Member