• 12-12-2009, 11:08 AM
    Nytol
    Beginner: D3000 vs S200EXR (Pics)
    I really like the look of the Fuji S200EXR then I realised for the same money I can get the Nikon D3000 with F-S DX VR NIKKOR 18-55 mm f/3,5-5,6.

I am a total beginner, this will be my first camera and I really can't decide between these two. People tell me to go for the Nikon D3000 because "it's a dSLR" and because it's "Nikon" but could anyone offer some real advice on these two cameras?

I was drawn to the S200EXR because of these two particular pictures...

Dynamic range in standard mode
    http://image.trustedreviews.com/imag...00contnorm.jpg

EXR DR mode
    http://image.trustedreviews.com/imag...200contexr.jpg

That picture really blew me away! :thumbsup:

What is important to me

- The best image quality possible
    - Low light capability

What is not important to me

- Live view, video, size, weight
  • 12-12-2009, 11:37 AM
    Franglais
    Re: Beginner: D3000 vs S200EXR (Pics)
    Some years ago I had the predecessors of the two cameras you mention - the Nikon D70 DSLR and the Fuji F10 point-and-shoot. Both were 6Mpix and went up to 1600 ISO. I had ample opportunity to compare the two:

- in good conditions (daylight, not too much contrast) I couldn't tell the two apart on a print
    - in contrasty light the Fuji burnt out the highlights and looked horrible
    - the Nikon allowed me to shoot RAW which meant I make huge corrections easily
    - the lens on the Fuji is f2.8 at the wide-angle end only. At the telephoto end it's f5.6 which means it's almost unusable in poor light (with the Nikon I can put any lens I want on it)

There was no contest - I always use a DSLR except when I absolutely had to have a very small camera in which case I take a Fuji point-and-shoot (currently a F40)