beginer help

Printable View

• 08-06-2005, 10:54 PM
    jon_206
    beginer help
    I'm still very new to the DSLR world and I was wondering if anyone could suggest a good source explaining some of the settings. (IE shutter speed, exposure, ISO) I have played with these a little with my point and shoot but now there are more options/settings. I've looked a little online but I generally have to try it before I understand it. Suggestions appreciated.

Thanks,

Jon
  • 08-07-2005, 11:02 AM
    bashby
    Re: beginer help
    The number of books that provide yo uwith basic photographic education could fill you house in a matter of moments. Most of them have the smae information and most are pretty good. I would recommend the National Geographic Photography Field Guide as a place to start. There is a very good text type book that covers everything from film to digital as well as dark room stuff titled "Photography" 8th edition. Go to the library to use this book. It is a great reference, but very pricey if you buy one new. ALso you might think about finding a photgraphy club in you area and hook up with those folks. Get some tips, handle some hardware before you go out and sink major cash into the hobby.

Bobby
    WolfGrafx Photgraphy
  • 08-07-2005, 04:57 PM
    tijean
    I second everything Bashby had to say. Additionally, I can recommend Kodak Pocket Guide to 35mm Photography (of course, you can skip the film types chapter) and Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera
  • 08-11-2005, 01:23 AM
    markcoleman
    Jon,