Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Aperture, speed, ISO and lens size

I am new to photography and I'm trying to learn how to use my own settings instead of the pre-set buttons on my Nikon D3000. I am going crazy in the process. No ONE manner of explanation does the trick for me. It takes me reading a bazillion different websites and watching lots of videos to pick up little pieces here and there. The hardest part for me seems to be memorizing how the values affect the photos (numbers going up sometimes do the opposite of what my brain wants to think they will do, ie with the light). Also, while I think I have conquered ISO (keep that one lowest unless absolutely necessary to get more light?), I have no idea how to use the aperture/speed combinations, and the biggest thing I don't get, is how these are affected by my 3 lenses. Mainly the 55-200 and 70-300. If anyone has a tidbit of knowledge to toss in, please do. Every little bit helps, and I never know when that dawning moment will finally hit me. The more simplified, the better, it seems!

Re: Aperture, speed, ISO and lens size

Thank you!

if you can, take a picture of the numbers on the third mystery lens and share with us ... we'll be able to help you better

I just replied in another thread you started. I was right where you are at now years ago. You have to learn how to read your lens specs. Once you know the limitations of your lenses, it will start to come together for you.
    It's not blurry. It's bokeh.

Canon EOS 1D Mark IV
    Canon EOS 5D Mark II
    Canon EOS 1D Mark III
    Canon 24-70mm EF f/2.8L
    Canon 24-105mm EF f/4L IS
    Canon Zoom Telephoto EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS
    Canon 17-40mm EF f/4L
    Canon 15mm F/2.8 EF Fisheye Lens