Advice please?

Printable View

• 10-01-2007, 06:46 PM
    angrygoatface
    Advice please?
    I'm a boarding school student, and my parents recently told me that if I wanted to start up photography they'd pay for a camera. I want to take pictures of nature; landscapes as well as close up (I'm in a particularly beautiful part of Maine). Portrait capability is good too. I also need the ability to take monochrome photos. I'm pretty good at figuring things out (A+ and working on my MCSE, if you're wondering), so usability isn't really an issue. What equipment would you recommend?
  • 10-01-2007, 07:45 PM
    mn shutterbug
    Re: Advice please?
    The million dollar question is, how much are your parents willing to fork out for your camera?
  • 10-01-2007, 07:54 PM
    angrygoatface
    Not a million dollars unfortunately :) Probably anything $1000 or under, but a little higher is ok (I can chip in.)
  • 10-01-2007, 10:44 PM
    Frog
    For the camera alone or camera and lenses?
  • 10-02-2007, 05:18 AM
    angrygoatface
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Frog
    For the camera alone or camera and lenses?

Camera and lenses. I know how to use eBay too.
  • 10-02-2007, 08:05 PM
    angrygoatface
    thewordbumpistooshortbump
  • 10-02-2007, 08:19 PM
    Frog
    I'm not sure what cameras are going for right now. The 3 that seem to fill the niche are the canon xti, nikon d80, or pentax k10d I think. With lenses they are all going to go over a thou but I think the k10d is the least expensive and a fine camera.
    If you'll read reviews here and elsewhere you might be able to narrow your choices down and tell us what ones you are thinking about getting.
  • 10-02-2007, 08:21 PM
    angrygoatface
    Is the D40 ok? Cause then I could get a better lens.
  • 10-02-2007, 09:03 PM
    deckcadet