Advice appreciated :)

Printable View

• 06-18-2010, 06:33 PM
    bronnn
    Advice appreciated :)
    Hello,
    I am looking to buy a digital SLR camera and was wondering what cameras you would recommend?

I am a photography student so would be using this camera for a range of things but most likely portraiture. I have been looking at the Nikon D90, but was wondering what else was out there. I have about $ 1,000 AUS to spend. Quality is important because I will probably be using this camera to produce larger prints.

Cheers!
    :)
  • 06-21-2010, 10:28 AM
    Photo-John
    Re: Advice appreciated :)
    Any reason you're looking at Nikon? I do think Nikon is producing the best image quality right now. But the truth is, all digital SLRs now are awesome. You can make excellent quality large prints from any of them. If you have a soft spot on Nikon, I'd recommend the D5000 over the D90. You give up a little bit in image quality but you save a bunch of money and I really like the tilt-swivel LCD a lot. You also need to take lenses into consideration. Ultimately, lenses are more important than the camera body. So if buying a less expensive camera means you can afford a bettter lens, the cheaper camera is usually the right thing to do.

We have pro reviews for both the Nikon D90 and the D5000 here. If I remember right, I make some comparisons to the D90 in the D5000 review.

Nikon D90 Pro Review >>
    Nikon D5000 Pro Review >>
    All Pro Reviews >>

I hope this helps. Let us know if you have more questions!
  • 06-21-2010, 11:09 AM
    n8