Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

¿RAW or TIFF?

Hello everybody and thanks in advance for your help,

I’m new to photography, with a brand new Olympus E-500.

So the question is: What’s better for photo editing, RAW or TIFF?

I have a Sandisk Extreme III 2 Gb card, so there’s no capacity problem on using TIFF for most occasions, I guess…

I’ve seen ACDSee 8.0 doesn’t read Olympus RAW, that’s quite a problem for me, as I use that program very often.

Efrén

Learning more with every "click" mjs1973's Avatar

Re: ¿RAW or TIFF?

Welcome to the Forum Efren. Both RAW and Tiff files are huge, but you will get a lot more flexibility out of your RAW files. The ability to adjust the white balance after the fact is worth it for me. But if you don't have a good RAW converter, working with RAW files can be a pain. I tried switching to RAW about a year ago, and my computer just wasn't built to handle them. Once I upgraded my computer, and software, my camera stays on RAW 99% of the time.
    Mike

My website
    Twitter
    Blog

"I thought that because fewer wolves meant more deer, that no wolves would mean hunters' paradise. But after seeing the green fire die, I sensed that neither the wolf nor the mountain agreed with such a view."
    Aldo Leopold

Both in some cases

Quote Originally Posted by ESTOERP
    Hello everybody and thanks in advance for your help,

I’m new to photography, with a brand new Olympus E-500.

So the question is: What’s better for photo editing, RAW or TIFF?

I have a Sandisk Extreme III 2 Gb card, so there’s no capacity problem on using TIFF for most occasions, I guess…

I’ve seen ACDSee 8.0 doesn’t read Olympus RAW, that’s quite a problem for me, as I use that program very often.

Efrén