Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Which Digital SLR is right for me?

Hi everyone

Heard this is a excellent place to get sound advise on cameras.
    I usually use a point and snap standard camera. so im new to the DSLR world.

im now working in a nightclub / concert environment and need help in choosing a perfect camera.

im also studying at university so there is a budget. i was told "dont get anything else but the canon eos 350D" by a friend. He said its the perfect DSLR for my needs. After looking into it with the lense, flash, card and body the total exceeds about £900. I would prefer to get something that takes that same quality photos but is maybe alittle cheaper. on the other hand if the canon eos 350D is so great i will be willing to scrape every penny together so i can invest in it.

i need camera to:
    > take sharp photos in the nightclub / concert environment ( lasers, strobes, crowds)
    > take excellent quality photos in everyday life, inside and outside.
    > Easy to use (manually and automatic maybe)
    > reliable
    > value for money (good investment)

please advise me on the perfect camera for me...

thanks in advanced

Nikon D50

Quote Originally Posted by mrma
    Hi everyone

Heard this is a excellent place to get sound advise on cameras.
    I usually use a point and snap standard camera. so im new to the DSLR world.

im now working in a nightclub / concert environment and need help in choosing a perfect camera.