Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Digital SLR Recommendations?

Since my post count is ZERO, therefore I can't create a new thread.

My requreiment is bit similar. I am a newbie in the world of camera. I am planning to buy professional camera for my wife having DSLR features. I don't know what all things people consider before buying a good camera. But I there are few points that I want.

1) Minimum 10.1 MP still image
    2) It should have option for adding custom lens for better photography. I don't know upto what extent a good lens can make difference.
    3) It should have enough optical zoom in a way one can take clear photo of a football from a mile.
    4) It should have a wid angle view. Example if you are standing meters away from a 100 story building, you should be able to take the picture of complete building.
    5) It should have atleast 4-5 inch ICD for viewing.
    6) Finally all its functions should be touch based. Although I've heard that touch based functionalities are only in basic cams not professional camers. So touch screen is an added advantage not a compulsion.

Now seeking all these features into consideration I've heard Nikon and Cannon (D3100 & D5100) are the top contenders. What else can you suggest.

Re: Digital SLR Recommendations?

Sorry about the post count limitation. We do that to make it more difficult for spammers to fill up the forums with spam. I went ahead and moved your post so that it's now a separate thread