Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Does This Feature Exist ? ......

and if so, whats it called so I know what to look for in my camera purchase.

Newbie here of course. But I've taken enough pics to know I would like this feature for when I'm taking pics of models.

The girls like to be able to see in real time (like they do on their cell phones) what they are looking like as they strike the pose, as it allows them to get that expression and pose they lookin for in less takes. FOr this, it seems simple enough to link a monitor (or iPad, or any screen) up to the camera via actual cable or blutooth and have that feed a live real time image of what I see in the lens, then always have that screen facing them but by the camera, so they can see it and VIOLA !!

In this day and age, I am sure this exists. So what is it called ? And which cameras have it ? Or any recommendations ? Cause I can also think of a few hundred other reasons why this is a great feature and how I could put it to use..

Thanks !

JD

Re: Does This Feature Exist ? ......

Welcome to PhotographyREVIEW.com, Joel!

Yes, that features exists. Originally it was only available in high-end digital SLRs, where it's called "tethered shooting." Basically, you use the HDMI output on the camera to plug into a monitor to so you can use the monitor to see through the camera lens.