Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Rebel XS, Sony A300, or Cybershot DSC S980?

I'm new to the whole photo taking arena, but I want to take pictures of a trip I have in the winter. Currently I found pretty good deals on these cameras, after looking at flikr using the camera finder I found some amazing photos taken with the sony A300 but none with the XS or S980.
    Price wise I found the following:
    Canon Rebel XS - $400 12.1MP w/4x optical zoom
    Sony Alpha DSLR A300 - $330 10.2MP
    Sony Cybershot S980 - $84 10.1MP
    Samsung SL620 - $78 12.2MP w/5x optical zoom

I really just want to take photos that look like the ones below, if I could take a photo as beautiful as these with the S980 I'd rather save some money.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ilovelo...za/4054743221/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/albertitoglez/4071297889/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/algo/3007460569/

Photos would probably just be left on my computer

Thanks in advance!

Re: Rebel XS, Sony A300, or Cybershot DSC S980?

"I really just want to take photos that look like the ones below,..." Who wouldn't???

With enough talent, years of experience and perfect conditions; these shots could be taken with any of these cameras. The better equipment allows the photographer to capture them even if the conditions aren't perfect, but you still need the talent and experience.

Of your choices, I would go with one of the DSLRs as long as you realize that you still need more.