Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Post-shot 'fixes'

See a lot of chat here about what a photographer does in a photo program after the image is transferred to the computer...

As a journalist, I need to create images that reflect the actual scene as it is at the time the shot is taken. Altho, as with any print or slide film, and in the darkroom, some variation of contrast and exposure time always happens to the beneift of the image itself.

But, I'm wondering how much is acceptable in any 'reality venue' as opposed to a photo showing how our world appears at any given moment. We capture one infintisimal portion of our world as it exists the second we push the shutter button.

I do very little processing after the fact for that reason. However, I began as a film-slide journalist years ago and have grudgingly given in to the DSLR, at first due to cost variables in my work, but lately, just because it works, is easier, and most publishers want digital now anyway. And in addition, I know very little about PC programs and DSLRs as to what they are actually capable of, but know it's way, way, way more than I'll every use.

SO, I wonder how we justify making all these digital inhancements to the world, or in some cases even, to overcome our own personal limitations in our shooting ability. Am, I'm absolutely guilty of it as well, so am not pointing fingers here. Just curious how we - as photographers - justify changing that view of the individual moment we've captured.