Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

What camera is right for me?

Hi all,

This is my first post so be gentle please

I am going to buy a digital camera soon. I have some experience using digitals so I'm not completely new to them and I have a decent knowledge of what the specs mean (somewhat). But I'm still not sure what I want.

I am leaning towards a Canon because three peopel here at work have S30's and are quite hapy with them. I would consider other brands, but have been fairly impressed with Canon so would like to get one. As well, i would like to stay CompactFlash as it's cheaper.

My current needs are mostly just for a point and shoot camera. My wife takes tons of pics of our girls and so it needs to be simple to use whatever I get. She doesn't like to read manuals (sigh) so it can't be difficult to use. Also, while most of my needs now are for very basic operation, I would like to be able to start experimenting more and using the features of the cameras more.

Most pics would only be done as 5x7 but the odd one as 8x10. A 3 MP would likely suffice but I am somewhat of an image quality junky (the more MP the better) and am likey to shoot everything in RAW mode to keep as much quality as possible. For that reason I was mostly eyeing the S50 as my purchase. However, Canon had to go and introduce the S1 IS which looks very appealing (extra zoom, nicer body) except it's "only" 3.2 MP.

So my questions:
    Am I being unnecesarily picky when it comes to quality of image?
    Is there a noticable difference using a 3.2 in RAW vs a 5MP (also in RAW)?