• 12-16-2006, 01:10 AM
    Crucifix
    Larger Aperature vs Image Stabilization
    I'm looking to purchase a Canon EF 70-200 lens for my Canon 30D, but I can't decide whether to get the F/4L IS, or the F/2.8L non-IS since the prices are very similar (and I can't afford an F/2.8L IS).

What would be the advantages/disadvantages of one over the other? Considering they advertise a 4 stop advantage with IS on the F/4L, it seems to me that would more than offset the advantage of a single additional stop on the F/2.8 non-IS (not to mention less weight). I've looked at photos from both lenses and wide open the background blur looks fine to me. If I'm being simplistic here, please tell me why!

As a bit of background, I'm fairly new to the DSLR world and intend to primarily take landscape/architecture/scenic photos using a tripod, but I'd like the option to hand hold the camera at weddings and other events.
  • 12-16-2006, 01:43 AM
    WsW-WYATT-EARP
    Re: Larger Aperature vs Image Stabilization
    I would think if you are going to take most photos using a tripod then you wouldn't need the IS. With the bigger aperature you can shoot at faster speeds. I believe hand-held shutter speeds are around 1/125 - 1/80 for nice results.

Weddings are usually a bit darker setting and the wider aperature will help you here. The f-4 may require longer shutter speeds then you may get motion blur. Alot of things come into play.

I personally would lean towards the F2.8 lens due to the fact that the majority of your shooting is done with tripod, and it would serve great for handheld events giving you a faster shutter speed when needed.

Someone that shoots canon may know something different or shed a different view on your decision. but that is my .02
  • 12-16-2006, 08:30 AM
    Ronnoco
    I would also point out that a 4 stop advantage to IS seems to be "stretching it". I have NOT seen optical bench test results that indicate a 4 stop advantage to any IS system.

Ronnoco