Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Thread: Newbie Here

Newbie Here

Hello All,

I am new to the world of Digitial photography. My old P&S Canon A70 died and decided to upgrade to my first real camera on Friday, a Nikon D60. I am very excited to learn and start taking photos that are actually compelling. Thank you for having me. ;-)

I had done some casual research over the last several months and this model seems to fit the bill perfectly for me. (Just getting started, looking for better quality pictures than a P&S, but is not shooting for National Geographic, but still wants to get creative)

I went shopping this weekend on Black Friday. I went to BB and saw that they had a package deal. This package included the d60 with 18-55VR, 55-200VR, a nikon camera bag, and an instructional video. I also purchased a san disk ultra II 8 GB memory card for "half price"

This total purchase price was 790 dollars.. It also received 18 months no interest. It was a very exciting moment to say the least. I was really giddy. My wife even offered to help me with the purchase as my Christmas gift. So, Im sold and plunk down my BB card and walk out a happy camper.

I felt safe buying the camera from BB, because I would not have to worry about internet vandals et al.

Now the family as asking me about my Christmas wish list, and obviously I am thinking accessoris for my camera, so I log onto Ebay and my jaw literally dropped. I am seeing packages like this one.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=350134205131